276°
Posted 20 hours ago

The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries: Drama and Danger: New for 2022, a mystery-filled detective story for children, perfect for fans of Robin Stevens!: Book 1

£3.995£7.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

I find this quite interesting as back then there was a lot of racism and the fact that he is on stage is amazing! The support and passion within the Black community (and Lizzie’s own family) is brilliantly depicted, shot through as it is with sadness about their brothers and sisters who are still in slavery. Many things happen at once, yet it is still possible to take time to enjoy the story and focus on the attempted murders and the murderer themself.

Williams has taken two real young people who lived in Georgian London and woven an exciting tale of mystery and danger around them. It also includes fantastic character, Ignatius, Sancho and his children (of which Lizzie is one) and wife and the entire premise of a society that doesn’t trust black people , yet is putting on a play of Othello, starring a black man which is controversial, some people are concerned that the only portrayal of black people on stage is of a murderer. The first book in a new thrilling mystery series for 9-12s set in 18th Century London and inspired by real Black British historical figures. The chapters, themselves are quite short which all make this easily readable for its intended age group. This beautiful story brings Georgian London to life with two delightful young detectives which I instantly fell in love with.One thing that sets "The Lizzie and Belle Mysteries" apart from other books in the genre is its ability to appeal to a wide range of readers. I can’t be the only one who’s been yearning for something to fill the Murder Most Unladylike/Sinclair Mysteries hole in my reading heart since those series came to an end, so I know I won’t be the only one latching.

The second book in the thrilling middle grade mystery series, perfect for fans of Robin Steven's Murder Most Unladylike.This was important because it showed how she felt about the situation and how she felt about her father and what she assumed was an attempted murder. I heard about this adventure novel in a school reading list and I was told if I enjoyed Murder Most Unladylike then I would enjoy this. She wore a gown of cream lace, the sleeves puffed at the shoulders, and a delicate silver chain around her neck.

Can Lizzie and Belle get to the bottom of what is going on in the theatrical setting of the era, and protect Lizzie’s father; or in fact can they even protect themselves. Lizzie was part of a proud African family, whereas Belle lived with her aunt Betty (Lady Mansfield) and Uncle William (Lord Mansfield).It’s the summer of 1777, the night of the grand unveiling of the Sancho-Mansfields family portrait – and a celebration of friendship, family, and freedom! I assumed that there would be no mention of racism whatsoever, as the book started so lighthearted (minus Ignatius’s injury), but it does, and in good detail.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment